Prominent People Buried in Crown Hill

As the final resting place for more than 190,000 souls, Crown Hill Cemetery echoes with thousands of remarkable stories of the lives memorialized here. Many of the men and women buried in our cemetery were nationally or even globally famous for politics, literature, the arts, and sports, including:

Lyman S. Ayres, 1824-1896, Section 11, Lot 11
Founded L.S. Ayres department stores in 1874. The first store was at the southwest corner of Washington and Meridian Streets.

Edward "Cannonball" Baker, 1882-1960, Section 60, Lot 150
Won the first race at the Speedway, drove in the first Indy 500. In the early years of automobiles, he held many speed records.

Albert J. Beveridge, 1862-1927, Section 45, Lot 22
U.S. Senator, 1899-1911. Biographer.

James Baskett, 1904-1948, Section 37, Lot 602
Black actor, best known for role of Uncle Remus in Disney's song of the South.

Edward Black, 1853-1872, Section 16, Lot 148
Drummer Boy and youngest U.S. Army soldier at the age of 8 1/2.

Sarah Bolton, 1814-1893, Section 5, Lot 17
"The first singer in a new land." First Hoosier poet, her poem "Paddle Your Own Canoe" was known all around the world.

Dr. John S. Bobbs, 1809-1870, Section 7, Lot 53
Founder of Indiana Medical College. In 1867 he performed the first gall bladder surgery in the country.

Ovid Butler, 1806-1881, Section 6, Lot 14
Early Indianapolis attorney; founded the school now named after him, Butler University, in 1854.

Edward R.S Canby, 1817-1872, Section 9, Lot 1
Civil War general; killed by Modoc Indian chief during peace negotiations.

Homer Capehart, 1897-1979, Section 46, Lot 241
U.S. Senator, 1945-1963.

Larry Conrad, 1935-1990, Section 88, Lot 5
Indiana Sec. of State, 1971-1979, State Democratic leader of the 1970s and 80s; author of the 25th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

Jacob Cox, 1810-1892, Section 33, Lot 142
First professional artist in Indianapolis.

Jefferson C. Davis, 1828-1879, Section 29, Lot 1
Civil War General, killed his own commanding officer, but was quickly restored to his own command.

John Dillinger, 1903-1934, Section 44, Lot 94
Notorious bank robber during the depression era, his escapades somehow caught the general public's imagination.

William H. English, 1822-1896. Section 1, Lot 72
Banker, built English Hotel and Theater, which was on Monument Circle. Democratic U.S. Vice Presidential Candidate in 1880.

Charles Fairbanks, 1852-1918, Section 24, Lot 3
U.S. Senator, 1897-1904, U.S. Vice President, 1905-1909. Fairbanks, Alaska is named after him.

Carl Fisher, 1874-1934, Section 13, Lot 42
Co-Founder of Indianapolis Motor Speedway; developer of Miami Beach, Florida.

Calvin Fletcher, 1789-1866, Section 7, Lot 9
Began law practice in Indianapolis in 1821; one of our leading citizens for over forty years. Left a nine volume diary.

Dr. Richard J. Gatling, 1818-1903, Section 3, Lot 9
Inventor of the Gatling Gun.

Benjamin Harrison, 1833-1901, Section 13, Lot 57
U.S. Senator, 23rd U.S. President 1889-1893.

Caroline Harrison, 1832-1892, Section 13, Lot 57
First President General of DAR, First Lady of U.S.

Thomas A. Hendricks, 1819-1885, Section 29, Lot 2
U.S. Senator, 1863-1869; Governor, 1873-1877, U.S. Vice Presidential Candidate, 1876, U.S. Vice President, 1885.

Kin Hubbard, 1868-1930, Mausoleum C-6-GG
Newspaper cartoonist; creator of Abe Martin.

Robert Irsay, 1923-1997, Section 88, Lot 5
Owner of the Indianapolis Colts/NFL team.

George Washington Julian, 1817-1899, Section 27, Lot 196
Congressman, 1849-1851 and 1861-1871; Candidate for U.S. Vice President, 1852. Outspoken abolitionist and advocate of woman's rights.

John Worth Kern, 1849-1917, Section 104, Lot 237
Democratic U.S. Vice Presidential Candidate, 1908; U.S. Senator, 1911-1917; Senate Majority Leader.

Etheridge Knight, 1931-1991, Section 62, Lot 173
A leading Black poet of the 1970s and 80s.

Col. Eli Lilly, 1844-1898. Section 13, Lot 19
Founder of Eli Lilly & Company.

Thomas Marshall, 1854-1925, Section 72, Lot 1
Governor 1909-1913; U.S. Vice President, 1913-1921.

Mary Ella McGinnis, 1869-1875, Section 16, Lot 23
Young girl memorialized on Crown Hill's best known statue.

Catharine Merrill, 1824-1900, Section 7, Lot 16
Civil War nurse and author, 1st female professor at Butler.

Thomas Morris, 1811-1904, Section 6, Lot 1
Chief engineer of portion of National Road, Indianapolis Canal, numerous railroad projects, also a Civil War general.

John Morrow, 1760-1835, Section 9, Lot 14
Revolutionary War Soldier and Methodist minister.

Oliver P. Morton, 1823-1877, Section 9, Lot 37
Indiana's powerful Civil War governor.

Meredith Nicholson, 1866-1947, Section 4, Lot 6
A best selling author in the early 1900s.

Noah Noble, 1794-1844, Section 1, Lot 13
Governor, 1831-1837.

Robert D. Orr, 1917-2004, Section 24, Lot 63
Indiana Governor, 1981-89; U.S. Ambassador to Singapore, 1989-92.

Alexander Ralston, 1771-1827, Section 3, Lot 30
Surveyor who platted Indianapolis in 1821.

James Whitcomb Riley, 1849-1916, Section 61, Lot 1
Famous Hoosier Poet.

Samuel St. George Rogers, 1832-1880. Section 3, Lot 22
Confederate soldier and congressman from Florida. Over 1,600 Confederate POWs are also buried at Crown Hill.

Mozel Sanders, 1924-1988, Mausoleum D-13-2A
Black Minister and founder of annual Thanksgiving outreach.

Lucy Ann Seaton, 1831-1864, Section 4, Lot 28
First Crown Hill burial, June 2, 1864.

Oliver Hampton Smith, 1794-1858, Section 12, Lot 9
Congressman, 1827-1829; U.S. Senator 1837-1843.

Otto Stark, 1858-1926, Section 62, Lot 1083
With T.C. Steele, one of the leading artists of the Hoosier Group. (Steele's first wife is buried at Crown Hill.)

Abel Streight, 1826-1892, Section 29, Lot 72
Civil War General, staged escape from military prison that freed over 100 Union officers.

Thomas Taggart, 1856-1929, Section 30, Lot 3
Mayor 1895-1901, National Democratic Chairman early 1900s; U.S. Senator, 1917. Developed French Lick Springs Resort and Spa.

Booth Tarkington, 1869-1946, Section 13, Lot 56
Author/playwright, winner of two Pulitzers.

David Turpie, 1828-1909, Section 25, Lot 164
U.S. Senator, 1863, 1887-1899.

Bernard Vonnegut, 1855-1908, Section 6, Lot 4
Architect of L.S. Ayres Building, Athenaeum, Shortridge High School, and Herron Art School; grandfather of author Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

David Wallace, 1799-1859, Section 3, Lot 10
Governor, 1837-1840; father of Lew Wallace, author of Ben Hur.

James Whitcomb, 1795-1852, Section 9, Lot 38
Governor 1843-1848; U.S. Senator 1849-1852.